Beyond Limits Academy-My Father’s World: Adventures, Week 12

Ahhhh! Back to school after a week off! Always hard to do:) The good thing is that we are now in the history portion of the year that will slow down a bit!! We started our State Study! I am so glad! We now know how America came to be and can slow down and study at a slower pace. That leaves me more time to finish quilts! I finished 3 quilt tops in the last week, and completed the binding on another!

 

As we learn the States each week, we are making a USA quilt also! I got all the states cut out before school stated, so at some point, I will put them all together and show you that. For now, here are the states I cut out: (the pattern is from this site!)IMG_3186~photo-full.jpg

Before I show you what we did for the states, let me show you how I have our work organized. I have a book for the State Mottos: You can print it here: state mottos mfw adventuresIMG_2960~photo

I have our Student sheets in a handy book also! I put these books together with a comb binder. I got mine on e-bay. Here is one on Amazon for reference. IMG_3187~photo

I also have a maze book of the states I got from this site. It was $5 and I put it into a booklet also. IMG_2958~photo

A good resource you can also get (if you bought your MFW used) is the flag stickers on Amazon: here!

We also have a USA scratch map. There are tons on Amazon, and they go on flash sales too. This one might be ours,  I don’t remember. IMG_3177~photo.JPG

We have a place mat for reference that we keep on the table during school. You can get them at a dollar store, but we got ours here. It is very sturdy and good quality. IMG_2956~photo

We have some flash cards from the Dollar Bin at Target:IMG_2962~photo

A USA map for the bath is also on our list: that one is here!IMG_3188~photo-full

A good app that we play all the time in doctor offices is Stack the States: IMG_3189~photo

Ok, now let’s get back to our week. This week we learned about 4 states, in the order that they joined the Nation.

Delaware, Pennsylvania, New Jersey and Georgia:

We made a Liberty Bell for Pennsylvania.

We used half of a cup, and a paper towel roll. Cut the cup in half and cover with foil. Paint the roll brown. Paint or color your background and glue them down! Voila!

We used a pipe cleaner and jingle bell inside it. We colored our background with oil pastels, bc they are speedy quick.

If your kid likes dot-to-dots, there is one of the Liberty Bell here.

There is a Drive Thru History Episode about the Liberty Bell! We have already watched it, but don’t forget about it!!

We went through the goodies that we got back in the mail from the State Tourism offices. I shared the address a few weeks back. State Visitor Address List and the check list to check them off: 50-states-checklist

Another good resource are these 2 cookbooks. They highlight food from each state!

A Patriotic book with great crafts is this one: IMG_3193~photo-full

For Spelling this week, it was review of the last weeks. We used our Pretzel ABCs to spell words…and eat at snack time! Find them here. IMG_2997~photo

She also used her pink letter board. (It was on a flash sale for 4$ and her entire room is pink) This one.

She wrote her words out in her black notebook with neon gel pens. They are smelly pens. When she was done…or maybe while she was doing it…she drew pictures too! The notebook is this one. Find the pens here.

In English we went over the proper capitalization of the days of the week and months. We watched some YouTube videos about it as well. IMG_2930~photo

We did a ton of worksheets on past tense also. (I added this to our week) We did some oral poems and dictations. In writing we learned about verbs! So fun!! We also seem to always do a day of summary.

In Math, we did a bunch of 3 digit addition with decimals….adding money with re-grouping. She does not need extra help in this area, thankfully.

We are still learning about the music in the Nutcracker. We made a ballerina snow flake hanging! Here is that tutorial.

We also made a Tissue Paper Christmas Tree. The tutorial is here.

Be sure to add the ornaments first, so that they show up on the tree. IMG_3199~photo.JPG

We also made some chocolate snowmen to give away to people. The tutorial is here.

Yes, we used hot glue, turn it on low heat, or use a very small dot. It did not melt our chocolate. I got a bunch of kid gloves in bulk here.

IMG_2946~photoIMG_2952~photo

We made some Ginger Bread ornaments for our trees. Yes, Sommer has her own tree in her room. She hangs all her ornaments on it! The gingerbread template we used is: Gingerbread Fellas

We pulled out the left over craft stuff and just decorated them. We used our Sprocket printer to print our faces. (It is heat sensitive, so glue gun the tree hooks on before adding the pics) Find the Sprocket here.  Or use any pic you have…or create your own face. IMG_3174~photo

IMG_3200~photo.JPG

We skipped Library Science this week due to a trip to the ER, but we still found school related things there. IMG_2754~photo

This week, between the 2 of us, we had about 6 doctor appts. In this pic, I am getting an artery checked for the flow of blood through it. I had a condition called MALS that is very rare and had to fly across the nation to have it surgically corrected. It is a dangerous surgery, more so than open heart surgery. I have to get the artery checked every 6 months now to make sure the blood flow is at a high enough velocity. But really, I do not need an ultra sound to tell me if it is strangled again. The pain that you get from a strangled artery is a pain you will never forget. There isn’t a pain killer that will take that pain away. With any bite of food or drink, you will drop to your knees in pain. I had this condition for almost 3 years before we figured out what the problem was. 9CD66C6A-9D94-433A-AAD6-770B66BAD956~photo

Since we spend hours in doctor offices, we wear masks now that it is flu season. We are always getting stopped and ppl ask where I get my masks. They are vog masks. Here is an example.  Size large is what is pictured. They rock. I have to wear 2 a lot of times around smells. The soap aisle and around any candles in stores. Also, when people drown themselves in perfumes and lotions. Yall, I have to wear my mask ALL THE TIME or I will have severe allergic reactions. IMG_2616~photo

Have you been to Joann’s fabric this time of year? It is like being on the front lines! The cinnamon smell is horrifying! 2 masks doesn’t touch that smell!IMG_2889~photo

This week I had a very bad attack from using my weed eater for 10 minutes. It landed me in bed for the rest of the day. BAM! In bed and on IV fluids, so we did not do much school that day. IMG_3096~photo.jpg

We started our bird study this week though! We read some bird books while we laid in bed, after I passed out. We read from our book basket too! Sommer still reads to me while I sew. That is a lot of fun!

To add to our bird study, we went to the Aquarium twice this week.

We saw the bird show both times and stayed after to talk to the trainers about the birds.

We finally got to see Mr. Eagle! How majestic! IMG_3148~photo

We learned about their beaks and claws on their feet. IMG_3150~photo.JPG

Guess who made an appearance? IMG_3120~photo.JPG

Yep! SCUBA SANTA!! I get major points for doing this in late November and not waiting until the line is out the door! #Winning

We went below the dolphin tank and watched the dolphins swim. IMG_3040~photo.JPG

Does all this count as a nature walk?? Because I’m tired!!….we went on our nature walk! We went Bird Hunting!!IMG_3205~photo-fullIMG_3209~photo

We watched that bird dance around catching small fish! We went to 3 different bird watching locations and even found some professional bird watchers set up!IMG_3227~photo.JPG

She and her husband talked with us about the types of birds they were watching. He is wayyyyy over to the top left in the marshy area. They had cameras that looked like paparazzi!

There are Bird Watching Books you can print for your kiddos here and here.

We read about birds in the Bible too! We read about them with Noah and the Ark and when Jesus was Baptized!IMG_2955~photo.JPG

We collected shells at our favorite spot, again! We both decided that bird watching was absolutely no fun at all! But we had fun trying it out!IMG_3223~photo.JPG

Advent starts today in our home! I got all the gifts wrapped! That took a longgggg time! Everyone take deep breaths, you will get through the holidays. Our school load has lightened up right in time to get our holidays on track! IMG_3234~photo

4 comments

  1. Another awesome week! How are you guys liking LLFT and WWE for grammar/writing? We’ve been using The Good & The Beautiful LA, but I was looking at adding in WWE after Christmas and possibly switching to First Language Lessons once we finish up TGTB. I’m undecided though. Do you have thoughts on what you guys have been using?

    Like

    • Hmmmm. That’s tricky to answer. I feel like, the language is lacking in strength. For Sommer. That’s why I added writing. The writing covers things that language does not. But it would be lacking by itself. I love the writing though. I also feel that this year is not really focusing on language at a higher level bc they are still learning basics. I haven’t changed it bc this year is focusing on History and our math is introducing a new concept weekly. Sommer still writes some letters backwards-and we are doing ok with the minimum for this year in language. I do think this book could be changed out….and I wanted to change it-but we hit the other subjects so hard that it is on the back burner. Right now, I am so glad the history has let up by shifting to the states-next year I will add cursive to our lessons-with whatever language I find. Let me know what you find and I’ll def check it out!!!❤️❤️

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my gosh lady, I’m tired just reading all your escapades! 🙂 but love to come and soak in all your add in’s! You girls just amaze me.

    Like

    • Add in’s get us through our week! The pace has slowed down, and I am thankful. By adding in certain things like the spelling we do, I can take out tests-so that’s a good thing❤️

      Like

Leave a comment